Info Sharing Blog

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Facts: Facebook Deactivation vs Deletion

March 27, 2018 Posted by jaacostan , ,
So the #deletefacebook campaign has been circulating over the internet, lets analyze the impact of deactivation and deletion of Facebook account and how to perform it.

Tip : If you don't want to read this article fully, here is the direct link for account deletion : 

Ok lets start, Firstly Deactivation.

So as per FB, "Deactivating your account will disable your Profile and remove your name and photo from most things that you've shared on Facebook. Some information may still be visible to others, such as your name in their Friends list and messages that you've sent.".
Also "Your Messenger account will remain active unless you deactivate it from the Messenger app. Using Messenger will not reactivate your Facebook account. Your profile picture will still be visible in your conversations and people will still be able to search for you by name to send you a message. You will continue to appear to friends on Facebook in places where they can message you."

Pretty good idea to regain the deactivated user accounts. Like sugar craving. For most of the guys, deactivation wont work as they intended and they will re-activate the account asap. 

You can deactivate the account from the setting page -> manage account and click on Edit.
delete facebook

That will take you to the Deactivation page.
delete facebook
You can click on Deactivate you account to deactivate. 
delete facebook

Now lets see about How to delete the Facebook account,

Like having a option to Deactivate the account directly from the Settings page, FB have not provided an option to delete the account.
But there is a account deletion option, but that's only for the died ones :P.
delete facebook
 
So if we go through the learn more link form the Settings -> General , it will take you through a basic help page on deactivation and deletion related topics. From there we can browse to another help page on "How do I permanently delete my account?" and can get the link to delete_account page.

The deletion process is so hectic for this Giant technological company as it takes up to 90 days to delete the account. So sad Right?.
Also they made it clear that, when you delete your account, the posts you shared with others will remain in the FB. So your friends will still have those posts and photos that you have shared with with.
delete facebook
 delete facebook
As per FB, " It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you've posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we are deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account."
Which means, once you are in FB, it is not so easy to close your account and data immediately. 
Once you entered in to the fun world of social media, there is no easy way to get out of it.
So the direct link for the account deletion is https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

 So think twice before putting and exposing yourself, personal data, pictures , dates, history on Sites like FB. You cant put everything on internet and claim right for privacy.

Reference Links :